View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently June 6th, 2020, 6:05 am



Reply to topic  [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
 Place for switches or gauges 
Author Message
2CV Fan

Joined: October 12th, 2019, 6:40 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Limburg Belgium
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
@Roger V : I have been reading in the Speeduino forum about the choice for WB o2 sensors. You gave input about LDperformance having a good sensor. Dazq gave a lot of help to found out how to connect to the Speeduino board. I miss the outcome though of his testing. Did you receive his reporting ?


May 10th, 2020, 10:12 am
Profile
Firing on two.
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2013, 12:04 am
Posts: 1005
Location: Exeter, Devon
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
If I recall, Dazq was investigating connecting digital to digital. I suspect it got put to one side as he has been doing a lot of work integrating speeduino into CAN. CAN is the system that allows the various peripherals in a modern car to communicate With each other. It may have been this he had in mind. :)

The ldperfomance sensor works very well with its normal analogue set up. Once you have the sensor bung welded to the exhaust, then its very simple to install and configure. Its very responsive. I was tuning the idle on carb with it, and could see the afr change as I turned the idle mixture screw.

_________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's probably electrical (or, an electric fuel pump!) ....


May 10th, 2020, 10:54 am
Profile
2CV Fan

Joined: October 12th, 2019, 6:40 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Limburg Belgium
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
@Roger V : OK so no issue. How many leads come from the controller to the Speeduino board ?


May 10th, 2020, 11:02 am
Profile
Firing on two.
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2013, 12:04 am
Posts: 1005
Location: Exeter, Devon
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
One, and they will share vehicle ground.

If I recall, a lead plugs in from the sensor to the controller. 12v and ground are plugged into the contoller. A single wire goes from controller to speedy. A schematic may be available on their site.

_________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's probably electrical (or, an electric fuel pump!) ....


May 10th, 2020, 11:23 am
Profile
2CV Fan

Joined: October 12th, 2019, 6:40 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Limburg Belgium
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
question : the sensors have a connector (mostly male) fitted I guess. The female connectors have to be fitted by the use, I also guess. So they need to be bought (somewhere ?). Where am I wrong ?


May 11th, 2020, 4:30 pm
Profile
Firing on two.
User avatar

Joined: March 5th, 2009, 6:23 pm
Posts: 1853
Location: Near Monmouth
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
My 2 plugs worth....
What are you missing, many places in the UK can supply most types of plugs/sockets...


May 11th, 2020, 4:39 pm
Profile
Firing on two.
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2013, 12:04 am
Posts: 1005
Location: Exeter, Devon
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
Yes, and I found it difficult to identify some of the connectors. Probably the best way is not to buy a sensor unless you know the connecter for it. :)

I made one for tps.

_________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's probably electrical (or, an electric fuel pump!) ....


May 11th, 2020, 4:47 pm
Profile
2CV Fan

Joined: October 12th, 2019, 6:40 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Limburg Belgium
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
So my guess was correct, but it also confirmed that simply buying a sensor is half of the job. Thanks for the info Roger V.


May 11th, 2020, 5:43 pm
Profile
Firing on two.
User avatar

Joined: March 5th, 2009, 6:23 pm
Posts: 1853
Location: Near Monmouth
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
FYI

eBay ....

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw= ... a4ffdba878


May 11th, 2020, 5:53 pm
Profile
Firing on two.
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2013, 12:04 am
Posts: 1005
Location: Exeter, Devon
Post Re: Place for switches or gauges
Pete useful :)

Some else to consider when selecting sensors, is the any published info regarding resistance ranges.

For example, I have a lpg temperature sensor, but it would be useful if I had data that said @ 20C* the resistance is 10k ohms ... @0C* ohms = 120k etc

You need to consider you approach to engine temperature as well :)

_________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's probably electrical (or, an electric fuel pump!) ....


May 11th, 2020, 6:59 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.