View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently April 27th, 2024, 5:15 am

Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Starting trouble! 

Post Starting trouble!
Hi Friends,

Now, this happens to me all the time. If I do not start my car for more than a week, she doesn't start. Finally, the engine goes rich, and the spark plug needs to be removed and cleaned. This usually happens only on one cylinder.

I have changed the ignition to new electronic ignition
I have changed the plugs
I have changed the coil.

The only thing I haven't changed are the HT leads. Do these leads lead to serious problems, literally?

Thanks and regards,

Steve

April 15th, 2009, 3:02 pm
Profile WWW
Firing on two.

Post Re: Starting trouble!
I am no expert, but, if it's only after leaving it for a week I'd suspect the battery is shot. Will it start when jumped from another car? Try charging the battery up before you start it next time and see if that's the cause. I think you can get a situation whereby the starter robs all the power from the coil, so it'll spin over fine but won't actually fire.

April 15th, 2009, 6:53 pm

Thanks, Russell!

I have, many times charged up the battery and then gone about starting the car, but I have the same problem. Once she is started up, and if I keep her started every other day, then there is not much of a problem. It is only after the time lag...

Regards,

Steve

April 16th, 2009, 3:13 am
Profile WWW
Firing on two.

Russell wrote:
I think you can get a situation whereby the starter robs all the power from the coil, so it'll spin over fine but won't actually fire.

You can - especially with electronic ignition - but this doesn't sound like it.

Odd as it sounds, it could be the fuel pump. I've certainly had 'em where the non-return's gone south and over time the pump's drained dry back to the tank.

April 16th, 2009, 9:01 am
Profile YIM WWW

Hi!