View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently April 16th, 2024, 12:43 pm

Reply to topic  [ 247 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 25  Next
 Albert the AKS400 
Firing on two.

Post Albert the AKS400
Hello everyone,
I've just recently got into 2CV's, and after ages of fruitless ebay searching I came across this wonderful 1978 AKS400 on '2CVTV' and managed to persuade dad to drive however many hundreds of miles to pick it up (It needed trailering, and I'm only old enough to drive my mobylette, which might struggle to pull a deux chevaux...)
Liz and Steve, the people we brought it off were totally wonderful, and included tonnes of parts, so for the most part it's an assembly job, though there are some 'oles in the upper bulkhead/firewall/whatever it's called, bit of rot in the 'A pillars' and the 'lower rear crossmember' is barely clinging on...
I have sorted out one of the A pillars, but other than that I have never done any car bodywork before so I'll probably be asking for advice soon - I didn't put it in the repair section as I expect it will be one of those ongoing projects, it wont be long before something goes wrong!
It's living up in the garage, without electricity so major work is confined to free weekends and holidays etc. where I can bring it down outside the house, so don't expect quick progress!
for now though, if I've understood photobucket correctly, there should be some pictures :D
(Admittedly mostly sideways...)

And thanks to Neil from 2CVGB for telling me about this site. I decided between international2cvfriends, 2CVGB and a small mobylette forum which gave me a section for the 2cv I should be able to get him fixed!
Thanks

George

January 9th, 2010, 8:37 pm
super slot

Post Re: Albert the AKS400
Hey George, Good to see you here. Looks like you are doing some great work on the van. Keep plugging away!

January 9th, 2010, 8:42 pm
Profile WWW
super slot